My Surreal Life

My Musings, My Thoughts & My Ponderings

Enough To Make You Cry

Maybe he is just a stepping stone to a great relationship… I’m offended and pissed off! To be perfectly frank, I have never ever said anything that to her in her life, why would anyone say that. I’m dating this man for crying out loud, it’s been long and painful road and I’m a little happy. Let me be for crying out loud!

Right life isn’t as easy and rosy as her and her boyfriend but that is no reason to go an down right insult me, I’m still fuming and it’s like 10hours later. Why does this guy need to play second fiddle to my next great love, why can’t he be the great love. I’m going around reassuring her that a guy who broke up with her in the first 6months of their relationship, is just scared because he knows she is the one when in fact it’s likely he will break up with her again.

Fine what she said I get why she said it, he has kids and he is older, it’s a term I was previously calling baggage. But I’ve decided that baggage isn’t the right word it’s just his life, it forms his past, present and future. Why do I need to term it in such a negative sense. His kids aren’t baggage, they are part of him and part of the person he has become. Kids are never a negative. What’s not to say he would be an entirely different person if he didn’t have them, which he is likely to be. And personally I’d be much more worried about 35, single & alone then 35 with kids. They are all to the same women who he was in a relationship with so how are they baggage. They are the variables in the equation that make the equation work out.

What is age but a number? Should I honestly be subjected to guys in a particular age bracket because they are suitable. At what point does any man become suitable, who knows. What is suitable. Isn’t that why dating is relevant. Younger men, older men, is he a playboy, are you a cradle snatcher or a couger… Questions that provide a negative view of the whole suituation to be begin with.

To be perfectly honest, this guy has surprised me with his level of interest. I didn’t expect he would be interested. I didn’t expect he would conform to the rules so much and considering the variables in his life.

Yesterday was Tuesday, we had texts on Monday and he said he would talk to me on Tuesday. Now from previous experience I was convinced that this would mean a text or an empty promise. But after reading ‘The Rules’, I have reassessed my beliefs and have decided that he would call if he was interested. So, I didn’t make contact all day long and he sent the first text. We chatted a little and then he actually called me to ask me out for Friday on a Tuesday. It’s refreshing and way more than I expected, however, why should I expect any less than proper manners.

So, unconsciously to him or perhaps consciously, I don’t know, right now he seems to be playing the rules to a tee. And I won’t be letting any bitterness or judgement get in the way of letting him be my great love.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 17, 2010 by in Uncategorized.
MyLifeInWords

The ups & downs of life as a step-mother, wife, employee, sister, daughter

The Step-Mom Way by Mrs. Paul

Raising Healthy Kids... For Moms By Choice

The Safety Chronicles

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Suddenly Mum

When Congo met Yorkshire: Muddling through as a sudden full-time step-mum and new bio-mum in a swirly, twirly, mixed-race blended family.

An English Divorce

and moving forward...

A More Perfect Union

The journey of a blended family, as they explore their world.

A Not-So-Wicked Step Mom

A peek inside my crazy life as a Mom, Step-Mom, Wife, Sister, Daughter, Aunt, Friend, Blogger...

My Surreal Life

My Musings, My Thoughts & My Ponderings

LilyPetal

Either write something worth reading or do something worth writing

