My Surreal Life

My Musings, My Thoughts & My Ponderings

Moral Decision Making

Apparently life is all about making moral decisions. And according to the Catholic faith, which my parents are all in favour of, moral decision making has a remit in the realm of sex and the introduction of sex in the relationship.

If I didn’t live with my parents this wouldn’t be an issue but because I do we have morals and values all the live long day. I have morals and I have values, I will admit to previously having a single one night stand. I will also admit to having relations with men because there was mutual sexual attraction and I will also admit to have sex with boyfriends. I do not believe at any point the time at which we had sex played any role in the make or break of the relationship.

There are men who are for relationships and there are men who are not. I’ve encountered a lot who are solely out for one thing only and will happily admit that to anyone who will listen. They don’t want relationships, they don’t want attachments so I have generally found them useful for scratching an itch!

Our parents generation and the gap to mine has possibly been the largest shift in morals and values over the course of humanity. We as people in our twenties and thirties will be a lot more open to discussion with our children on the matters of love and sex because we as women have changed. We won’t be as blind to the obvious as our parents still are..

Since woman have gained what I would consider a 80%-90% equality status in society, we have money, we drive, we own property and most of all we can be independent whether we are in a relationship or not. Our sole drive is not to get married or fall in love for social security and future easy living.

It is not taboo anymore for women or men to be single in there 40s or 50s but 30 or 40 years ago it was. There are appearently more co-habiting couples in this country than there are married couples in the 20-29 age group. Which suggests a shift in the sttitutes of people towards marriage and the real value of being in relationships. While I personally love the idea that JR could be ‘The One’, I also have to be realistic about the likelihood of that occuring.

Couples are together in these times not for lifetimes because all of society is more open to everyone and so are the experiences in that society.

Personally i would love to be married forever, that is my ultimate aim. But happiness is key in this situation and sex, in these times, doesn’t make a difference. We do not go in to relationships total knowing there will be only one for eternity and as long as you get in to a relationship with your own set of morals not compromised then what does sex have to do with it be it on the first or last date.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 23, 2010 by in Reposted Blogs.
MyLifeInWords

The ups & downs of life as a step-mother, wife, employee, sister, daughter

The Step-Mom Way by Mrs. Paul

Raising Healthy Kids... For Moms By Choice

The Safety Chronicles

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Suddenly Mum

When Congo met Yorkshire: Muddling through as a sudden full-time step-mum and new bio-mum in a swirly, twirly, mixed-race blended family.

An English Divorce

and moving forward...

A More Perfect Union

The journey of a blended family, as they explore their world.

A Not-So-Wicked Step Mom

A peek inside my crazy life as a Mom, Step-Mom, Wife, Sister, Daughter, Aunt, Friend, Blogger...

My Surreal Life

My Musings, My Thoughts & My Ponderings

LilyPetal

Either write something worth reading or do something worth writing

