My Surreal Life

My Musings, My Thoughts & My Ponderings

When Children Talk….

Today there came the first of an interesting situation, but it probably has been brewing for a while. The little one who shall be known as the Princess (she’s 6), used me against her own mother today, to her face.

I don’t believe that children, particularly girls, should be allowed to walk around with wet hair. You should always dry their hair. Now, unfortunately, mommy doesn’t believe in this, so when she washed Princess’s hair today and she wouldn’t initially dyed it, Princess turned around and said that I always dry her hair, and she will get me to wash it from now on…

NOT GOOD!!

It was only a matter of time before, something was said. Because I have never met mommy. I have been living with her children for 12 months and she hasn’t made a point of meeting me. Personally, thats a whole other post.

So Princess said something that was completely natural for her today, however, the repercussions for me may be immense. I don’t know, its the first time we have been made aware that something was said. A part of me feels a little smug. Being totally honest, its like a little victory that the children trust me for some things and we are progressing that they are saying my name around her. They will always say ‘My mam’ this and that in our conversations and it does annoy me. This is definitely because I wish they were my kids and they will never be my kids. So that is something that I have to constantly work to accept.

I have never met Mommy, from what I’ve heard I don’t wish to meet her. However, she has already told people that she has met me, which is pretty pathetic. Thus I believe that it makes it harder for us to build a relationship. If it was me and they were my children, I would ideally like to know who the hell was looking after my children. But I suppose thats what makes us different. It seems we are polar opposites and thats all there is to it.

This side of things scares me because i really don’t know what type of relationship is gonna form.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 15, 2011 by in Reposted Blogs.
MyLifeInWords

The ups & downs of life as a step-mother, wife, employee, sister, daughter

The Step-Mom Way by Mrs. Paul

Raising Healthy Kids... For Moms By Choice

The Safety Chronicles

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Suddenly Mum

When Congo met Yorkshire: Muddling through as a sudden full-time step-mum and new bio-mum in a swirly, twirly, mixed-race blended family.

An English Divorce

and moving forward...

A More Perfect Union

The journey of a blended family, as they explore their world.

A Not-So-Wicked Step Mom

A peek inside my crazy life as a Mom, Step-Mom, Wife, Sister, Daughter, Aunt, Friend, Blogger...

My Surreal Life

My Musings, My Thoughts & My Ponderings

LilyPetal

Either write something worth reading or do something worth writing

